Wed, 12 Aug 2020

Labuschagne set for swift return to action

19 Sep 2019, 22:52 GMT+10

Marnus Labuschagne is set to slot swiftly back into domestic action for Queensland after being Australia's find of the Ashes series, but the majority of the squad who were involved in the physically and emotionally draining series will be rested for the start of the Marsh Cup this weekend.

Labuschagne scored 353 runs at 50.42 after coming into the side as a concussion substitute for Steven Smith at Lord's and was elevated to No. 3 for the final two Tests. He has been included in the Queensland squad, alongside Michael Neser who was unused during the series, although the pair will be assessed following their journey home and may be held back for the second game against South Australia on Tuesday. Usman Khawaja has been rested following his axing from the side for the last two Tests.

ALSO READ: Paine, Siddle played Oval Test with injuries

Queensland's first match is against New South Wales who will be without all their Ashes players meaning the return of David Warner and Steven Smith to state cricket will wait a little longer. Pat Cummins, who was the only Australia bowler to play all five Tests, is likely to be given an extended break.

The opening game of the domestic season sees Western Australia take on defending champions Victoria at the WACA. The home side are awaiting confirmation of whether they will have Cameron Bancroft and Mitchell Marsh while Victoria will be without Marcus Harris, James Pattinson and Peter Siddle for the first set of matches.

However, they will have Glenn Maxwell and Peter Handscomb, who have both returned from their county stints with Lancashire and Durham respectively, along with Australia's limited-overs captain Aaron Finch.

Test captain Tim Paine will be absent for Tasmania along with Matthew Wade meaning Jordan Silk will captain.

Travis Head, who was dropped for the final Test at The Oval when Marsh was recalled, has been rested from South Australia's opening matches with Jake Lehmann named as captain. They have World Cup players Alex Carey, Kane Richardson and Adam Zampa in their ranks.


Victoria Peter Handscomb (capt), Scott Boland, Jackson Coleman, Travis Dean, Andrew Fekete, Aaron Finch, Sam Harper, Mackenzie Harvey, Jon Holland, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Will Pucovski, Matthew Short, Will Sutherland, Chris Tremain

New South Wales Sean Abbott, Nick Bertus, Harry Conway, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Matthew Gilkes, Liam Hatcher, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Nathan McAndrew, Arjun Nair, Peter Nevill, Kurtis Patterson, Daniel Sams

Queensland Jimmy Peirson (capt), Xavier Bartlett, Joe Burns, Max Bryant, Cameron Gannon, Sam Heazlett, Charlie Hemphrey, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Matt Renshaw, Billy Stanlake, Mark Steketee, Jack Wildermuth

South Australia Jake Lehmann (capt), Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Tom Cooper, Callum Ferguson, Joe Mennie, Harry Nielsen, Lloyd Pope, Luke Robins, Alex Ross, Kane Richardson, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald, Adam Zampa

Tasmania Jordan Silk (capt), George Bailey, Jackson Bird, Alex Doolan, Jake Doran, Nathan Ellis, James Faulkner, Jarrod Freeman, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Alex Pyecroft, Gurinder Sandhu, Beau Webster

Western Australia TBC

More Raleigh News

Access More

Sign up for Raleigh News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!